Good, Better…

A few days ago, a friend read some old and some new posts on my blog and shared his feedback. While he had a few good things to say about the content on my blog, he pointed out some posts which could have been better.

Now, I really love to know how my writing on the blog is perceived by readers. To understand his view point and suggestions, I read the posts he had critiqued and appraised. And while I was on the reading spree, I read a lot of my posts again. And as I read, one post after the other, I realized that what I try to do is write. I may write for two weeks ‘the cat sat on the mat, that is that, not a rat,’…. And it might be just the most boring and awful stuff. But I try. When I’m writing, I write. And then it’s as if the muse is convinced that I’m serious and says, ‘Okay. Okay. I’ll come.

Some of my earlier posts are truly groan-worthy and I wondered, ‘What was I thinking when I wrote such posts?’. I had half a mind to remove these embarrassingly poor posts, but then ‘sanity’ prevailed and I thought that such posts would serve as reminder to do better and also may be to chart the writing journey!

And yes, some posts are truly spectacular. LOL, this sounds so narcissist! After reading these ‘truly spectacular’ posts, I had this happy grin on my face which lasted for a long time and a sort of nihilism resulting in speaking aloud, “Did I write that??”
I believe, the more you do something, the better you get at it. This holds true for our writing too. The consistency in writing will ultimately result in better health of grey cells and thus better creative thoughts and ideas. And also, when one makes writing a habit, it comes easier and faster. These 2 observations have been proven right as I type this post.

How has been your writing journey? Do you think the more you write, the better you get?

Maya-Angelou

Published by

A Staunch Believer

I am a relaxed, lazy and a fun loving person.

Leave a comment